A-P's Oberhauser top player on All-NICL East Team

Aplington-Parkersburg's Alec Oberhauser dunks the ball during a game with Dike-New Hartford earlier this season. The Falcon senior was named the NICL East's Most Valuable Player. (Eclipse file photo)

Aplington-Parkersburg senior Alec Oberhauser was named the North Iowa Cedar League East's Most Valuable Player in all-conference boys basketball teams released by the league this week.


Falcons head coach Aaron Thomas earned Coach of the Year recognition, helping lead A-P to an undefeated 16-0 record in the conference.


Oberhauser is joined on the first team by Carter Cuvelier and Dike-New Hartford juniors Cade Fuller and Colton Harberts.


A-P's Grant Truax and Coby Hoff are on the second team, along with Tim Koop of Dike-New Hartford.


Oberhauser averaged 16.1 points per game and led the conference with 112 assists (7.4 per game), 35 blocks and was third in the NICL East with 43 steals, in addition to 7.5 rebounds per game.


Cuvelier scored 17.6 points per game against NICL East competition, with 50 assists, 45 steals and 7.1 rebounds per game. This is the second-consecutive season with Oberhauser and Cuvelier honored as first-teamers. Cuvelier was also an honorable mention in his freshman season.


Harberts tied for the conference lead with 8.5 boards per game and also averaged 16.9 points with eight blocks and 15 steals in conference play.


Fuller poured in 17.6 points per conference game for the Wolverines and dished out 51 assists with 22 steals, pulling down a 3.8 rebounding average.


Koop was third in the conference with 101 assists in 16 games, in addition to 30 steals and 8.9 points per game.


Truax averaged 8.4 points per conference game in his senior season, adding 24 assists and 26 steals. Hoff had 4.3 rebounds per game, 41 assists, 32 steals and 8.4 points per game against conference foes. Truax and Hoff received honorable mention last season.


NICL East All-Conference


Most Valuable Player: Alec Oberhauser, Aplington-Parkersburg


Coach of the Year: Aaron Thomas, A-P


First team

Alec Oberhauser, sr., A-P

Carter Cuvelier, jr., A-P

Cade Fuller, jr., D-NH

Colton Harberts, jr., D-NH

Paul Rundquist, jr., Wapsie Valley

Parker Ingamells, sr., Hudson

Joey Youngblut, sr., Jesup

Zach Miller, sr., Denver


Second team

Grant Truax, sr., A-P

Coby Hoff, sr., A-P

Tim Koop, jr., D-NH

Kirk Drew, sr., Wapsie Valley

Dylan McCombs, sr., Jesup

CJ Christopher, sr., Hudson

Bo McMahon, sr., Denver

Koby Alpers, sr., Union