Three each from A-P, D-NH on all-state football team

Aplington-Parkersburg's Sam Thorn was a first-team all-state selection by the Iowa Newspaper Association, along with lineman Grady Brungard. (Eclipse file photo)

Three players each from Aplington-Parkersburg and Dike-New Hartford football were recognized on the Iowa Newspaper Association's All-State Football Teams released on Tuesday.


A-P's Grady Brungard and Sam Thorn were Class 2A first-team selections, along with Dike-New Hartford's Isaac Jorgensen.


D-NH lineman Chase Arends was a second-team all-state selection and A-P's Braden Good and D-NH's Jake Landphair were honored as third-team all-state selections.


Grady Brungard was a senior leader on the offensive line that helped block for Thorn, who rushed for 1,665 yards and 17 touchdowns this season. A-P accumulated 3,735 yards of total offense this season with the help up front from Brungard and his fellow Falcon linemen. Brungard added 30.5 total tackles, including six solo tackles for loss and four quarterback sacks on defense.


Jorgensen made 27 of 33 point-after attempts this season and made a 50-yard field goal in addition to kicking 31 of 46 kickoffs for touchbacks. He also hauled in nine catches for 76 yards and a touchdown in the Wolverines' passing game.


Read more about the all-state football selections in the Nov. 22 Eclipse.