2020 All-NICL East Volleyball Team: D-NH earns 2 top-team spots

Dike-New Hartford's Payton Petersen (left) and Madelyn Norton (right) earned first-team honors on this year's All-NICL East Volleyball Team. (Jake Ryder photos)
Jake Ryder
Eclipse News-Review
Dike-New Hartford's Payton Petersen and Madelyn Norton earned first-team All-NICL East honors in the 2020 volleyball teams released following Thursday night's Class 2A championship match.
The 2A champion Wolverines also had a pair of second-team selections in Jadyn Petersen and Lexie Fager. Taylor Hoehns received honorable mention, as did Aplington-Parkersburg's Kasidy Mohwinkle.
Payton Petersen, a freshman, averaged 5.5 kills and 5.2 digs per set against East competition, the second-highest averages in each category among NICL East individuals. Petersen added 29 total blocks. D-NH’s sophomore setter Madelyn Norton distributed 11.1 assists per set to her attackers and defended with 2.5 digs per set.
Jadyn Petersen, a freshman, made 87 digs in six East matches this season and added 48 kills. Fager, D-NH’s junior libero, joined her in the back row with 115 digs in eight East matches, and was the second-most efficient server (95.4 percent) against East competition behind Jillian Beuter.
Hoehns tied with Ellie Knock for the team lead in total blocks with 30 stuffs.

Kasidy Mohwinkle, a junior, averaged 3.6 kills and 2.9 digs per set in eight NICL East matches. She also converted 74-of-78 serves with four aces against East competition.

The Player of the Year honor went to Hudson senior Ashlynn Kuhn. The Drake commit led all NICL East individuals with 180 kills and 39 blocks in eight NICL East matches, and added 17 ace serves.
Denver head coach Jamie Johnson received Coach of the Year honors. The Cyclones were second to Dike-New Hartford in the final East standings and not only reached the state tournament for the first time in school history, but advanced to the Class 2A championship game against the Wolverines.


2020 All-NICL East Volleyball Team

Player of the Year

Ashlynn Kuhn, Hudson

Coach of the Year

Jamie Johnson, Denver

First team

Kayla Knowles soph. OH Denver
Reese Johnson jr. S Denver
Payton Petersen fr. OH Dike-New Hartford
Madelyn Norton soph. S Dike-New Hartford
Ashlynn Kuhn sr. MH Hudson
Morgan Brandt jr. S/OH Sumner-Fredericksburg
Belle Weber sr. OH Union
Allie Driscol sr. S Union
Lydia Imbrogno jr. OH Wapsie Valley

Second team

Allison Bonnette jr. OH Denver
Jadyn Petersen fr. OH Dike-New Hartford
Lexie Fager jr. L Dike-New Hartford
Sara Hansen sr. S Hudson
Bobbi Thomas jr. OH/MH Jesup
Caelor Wymore soph. L Jesup
Isabelle Elliott fr. OH Sumner-Fredericksburg
Kalvyn Rogengarten soph. MH Wapsie Valley
Ali Vesley sr. MH Waterloo Columbus

Honorable mention

Kasidy Mohwinkle jr. OH Aplington-Parkersburg
Jessica Gergen fr. MH Denver
Taylor Hoehns jr. MH Dike-New Hartford
Jessica Carolan sr. L Hudson
Alexis Harris sr. S Jesup
Alivia Lange soph. L Sumner-Fredericksburg
Sophie Winkelpleck sr. L Union
Hannah Knight soph. OH Wapsie Valley
Reagan Lindsay sr. L Waterloo Columbus



Parkersburg Eclipse News-Review
503 Coates St.
Parkersburg, IA 50665
Phone:  319-346-1461

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit www.midampublishing.com for more information.